Finally Free

I’m finally free, for the first time in a long time. It’s a fantastic feeling. I handed in my first ‘proper’ assignment for my course, this morning. A huge 3,000 word monster. I’m really not sure how I’ve done. I’m quite scared at the moment that I’m no good at this course, and I just don’t know it, but time will tell.

Today we started a module on ‘consumer insight’, which I thought was rather fascinating. It’s linked heavily with consumer psychology, which I’m always shouting about. Essentially, it’s about understanding consumers (those who consume products, as opposed to buying them) and the psychology behind what engages them, and attracts them to products. We discussed Freud, who is always a hot topic in anything remotely psychologically-related. We also talked about other schools of psychology, such as Erikson and Deleuze/Guattari. We discussed materialism, post-materialism, and many other boring sounding things. I found it absolutely fascinating. To cut this short, I’m quite certain that I’ve found my niche with marketing. It’s very early days, yet, but I can definitely see myself researching and writing a dissertation around this.

After my lecture, I ran into my fellow peers from the Feminist Society, who had set up a stall on campus, and were raising awareness about Equal Pay Day. Essentially, women, on average, get paid 17% less than men. If, at this current rate, women and men were paid equally, over a whole year, women would stop being paid on October 30th. I’m not sure if that made any sense, but I hope you can see my point. It was a lot of fun, and afterwards, I ran into an old friend of mine, who’s currently doing a Creative Writing MA.

He sounded like he was working on some amazing things, and it made me very jealous. He told me of an enlightening seminar he had today about the fear of writing. Admittedly, I’ve come some way to overcoming my ‘fear’, but I haven’t had the time to write anything, recently. This makes me very sad. I think I might dig out one of my unfinished stories this weekend, actually. Here’s hoping!

On the subject, I’m going to start my NaNoWriMo project in a couple of days. NaNoWriMo happens every year, and it’s essentially about writing an entire novel in one month. I have no idea what shape or form it’s going to take, but I’m just going to run with it. I’ve got my own profile on the website, and will try to post updates if I can. It’s going to be an experience, that’s for sure.

In other news, I’m also going to grow a moustache for Movember again. Last year’s moustache wasn’t epic. I’m hoping to change that this year. If anyone hasn’t heard of it, it’s a month long moustache growing fest, raising money for the Prostate Cancer Charity. Again, if you can, get involved!

Leave a Reply

